If walls could talk……

Yesterday, dear hubby had an appointment with the dentist at our closest base.  While he was there, I did some shopping, and after he was done I managed to talk him into a wee side trip to Oxford, for a late lunch at The Eagle and Child

I hope you will take a look at what wiki says about this place, but here is a synopsis.  The Eagle and Child has been a public house (ie: pub) since about 1650.  Around 300 years later (take a minute and think about that…..) it became the weekly meeting place of a handful of Oxford scholars who called themselves “The Inklings.”  Among them were C.S. Lewis and J.R.R. Tolkien.  Week after week they sat in the Rabbit Room and discussed their thoughts, read passages from what they were working on and lifted a pint (or two?).  I had lunch here a couple months back, sat in the Rabbit Room and waited for the walls to tell their secrets.

After a bit, we took a walk down the High Street (remember….every village has one), got some keys made and a cup of coffee for the road.  Seems my time in Oxford is never as long as I would like it to be, there is so much to explore.  On my last trip, I popped into Alice’s  Shop, and picked up the connection with Lewis Carroll.  At that time, I also discovered Mad Hatter Tea-–which I am enjoying most mornings these days. 

Oxford is not only a delight to the eyes, but to the book lovers senses.  Can’t wait to go back 🙂

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “If walls could talk……

  1. Linda

    I’m putting that on the list of “must do while visiting”. And I’m making the last cup of Mad Hatter tea from the bags you sent. It’s pretty…..

Leave a Reply

