Yarn Therapy

You know when you’re having one of those days?  The kind where everything is going along wonderfully, and then something happens and you’re thrown a bit off balance…..everything is still going okay and you keep plugging along…..and then all of a sudden your whole world (at work anyway) goes to the hot place in a coach bag?  It was one of those days. 

I think I may have mentioned at some point, that most of what I do involves a computer; both a Windows based charting program, and a DOS based program that the Windows based program talks to……or is suppose to anyway.  This morning, and then on and off for most of the day, neither program was functioning.  This meant that I was basically dead in the water (so to speak).  Add to this, the provider I’m assigned to had an emergency at home and we had to cancel the afternoon, and then the final straw came when I had no fewer than 5 people crowded in and around my tiny office, wanting something.  For the first time in I don’t know how long I left almost on time…….my brain was about to explode.

I did what any of you would do…..I came home, poured myself a generous adult beverage (whiskey sour, for anyone interested), put on some fun music and set the twist in some fresh spun skeins of mystery wool.  The plan, is to make these skeins part of my exchange gift for camp in a few days.

And……I’m feeling better.  It’s amazing what a little yarn play can do for one’s attitude.  Tomorrow, of course, will bring trouble of it’s own, but for now, I can enjoy looking at the yarn suspended from my kitchen cabinet and look forward to camp in a few days. 

How do you deal with a bad day???

7 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

7 responses to “Yarn Therapy

  1. I dyed silk today while my cranky rude mean MIL is in the house. I also drank water (see Sandy’s post about rude people need to drink more water) and I smiled politely.

    Now I am happily dyeing merino, reading blogs and thinking I won’t see the MIL for weeks.

    Life is sssssswwwwwwweeeeeeeetttttt!!!

  2. The same way you do! But, my adult choice is a martini, two olives…with fiber on the side;-)

  3. Alas, adult beverages give me migraines now. 😦 But I come home and I should exercise, but instead I read, knit, play with the kitties…

  4. Mostly I spin. Sometimes I read blogs. I rarely open wine for such occasions, but if it is already open, I do take advantage of the situation. Tea helps. Just being alone is balm. If the season is right, I wander around the garden, and get sucked into weeding, or whatever, and then I’m feeling better.

  5. Melissa G

    Depends on the time of day and my ability to concentrate. Weeding is good, so is spinning now I know how. Other times a good book and tea or the appropriate WIP. Needless to say, these are solitary QUIET activities.

  6. Semi-mindless knitting is good–the kind which has a soothing rhythm, but requires that I pay just a little attention to it. Or just fondling some really great yarn.

    Humor is a big help, too. I’ll read funny blogs or go to overheardinnewyork.com for some laughs.

  7. I love your site!

    _____________________
    Experiencing a slow PC recently? Fix it now!

Leave a Reply

