Here’s the deal

It seems that after spending all day either looking at a computer or suffering death by paperwork, the only thing I can really bring myself to do is passively check in on you all.  Seriously, email, I can do in fits and starts, reading my daily dose of blogs is doable after a snack, but posting????  That just requires a bit more brain power than I’m up for these days.  This will be really quick—I really want to sit in front of the telly and knit.

First: The job is progressing.  The last couple of days I’ve actually done a bit more than sit like a toad with a dumb look on my face, listening to “this is this and that is that” while filling out orientation checklists.  The past few days I’ve come home at lunchtime to let the doggies out and re-group.  It is ever so nice to get a break in the middle of the day, and it makes it feel like I haven’t been stuck in a windowless office non-stop….did I mention that my new office has a window?  Can’t wait 🙂  There is still lots to do; in fact at some point there is stuff to do on the computer, that I can actually accomplish at home (off the clock, but I’m thinking it’ll be nice to get it over with, ya know?)

Second:  The knit group had a grand time here at the house over the weekend.  Due to my current lazy status, you can read all about it here, and here.

Third:  Monday was a holiday…..which means that both Brad and I had a day off, and the car dealerships were open.  Yes, indeed, we finally reached a decision and came home with a new car.  The good news is it’s pretty, and comfy (let’s hear it for heated seats!!), the bad news is that it’s all dirty from the yucky roads, and that before we picked it up it had a little run in with a snowplow.  There’s a new bumper on order and all will be well before you know it.  (I just re-read that and it sounds much worse than it is…..the manager of the dealership had been clearing snow……the blade of the wee snowplow got a little to friendly with my front bumper).  Anyway, things will be good as new, or I will get new, and that will be good……got it?

Okay….I’m off to find my sweats and sit by the fire.  Over and out.

5 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

5 responses to “Here’s the deal

  1. I know what you mean by getting it together to post. It’s been hard for me this week and I’m taking tomorrow off. Sounds like things are progressing well at the new job and you have found a nice balance. Take care and enjoy your time by the fire!

  2. There are just days (and weeks) like that re: blogging. Don’t feel pressured! 🙂

    Congrats on the new car!

  3. Michele

    hello, I want to see pics of the new car…:) Glad you got the heated seats…they are worth there weight in gold in the winter…but hot on the legs in the summer…make sure you have a towel with you for the leather gets really hot fast! 🙂 Speaking from experience you know!! 🙂
    Enjoy!

  4. I suspect everyone understand how draining a new job can be, especially all that twiddling of thumbs “training” rather than just jumping in a doing. We’ll be here when you hit yoru stride again so no apologies/explanations necessary.

    Though I think we are all waiting with baited to breath to hear what the car decision was 🙂

  5. Melissa G

    Time off for lunch is just plain civilized. Congrats on your new car! (What did you finally agree on?) If your roads are anything like mine in the ‘hood hopefully the ruts won’t get your alignment out of whack–we had a plow through here yesterday, but it seemed they just took a look and decided the ice was too thick to do anything about smoothing or widening the tracks.

Leave a Reply

