Joyful, joyful, we adore thee…….

Lady Eleanor 

Yes.  I totally caved in to temptation, and the addiction is full and complete.  It has been a long, long time since I’ve fallen so hard for a project, in fact, I’m not sure of the last project that held me so tightly in it’s grasp; both as process (the entrelac is captivating and not scary at all), and as project (the yarn is creating a stunning stole which will be oh so welcome).  And already the ooohs and aaahs have been heard, from our favorite 3 year old who spent the day here yesterday (“that sure is nice yarn you’ve got Miss Eesa”) to his mom who remarked how very cool it is (“is it hard??”) to DH who said “look at you go, girl” and “is the yarn doing that by itself??”  My joy is complete.

And we have perfect knitting weather here today—what a bonus!  As I look out the window just now, the houses across the street are only a blur, snow is falling sideways, being pushed along by gusts of wind up to around 50mph.  The weather channel is saying we may be measuring the snow in feet, rather than inches before it’s all over sometime tomorrow.  My only concern is for Brad who took off to work this morning before the snow began falling and may—if reports are to be believed—-end up stuck in his office if he doesn’t head home shortly.  Every school in the area is closed, many churches and extension programs and several businesses as well.  Whatever will people do, if’n they don’t knows how to knit??  I suppose this is what Sony and Nintendo had in mind when they invented those game thingies, huh?

For our quickie trip to Washington, I grabbed a fresh book off the shelf to read on the plane.  Let me pause here and say, I belong to a couple ‘book clubs’ of the mail order variety, and this book came to me quite by accident, as in, I don’t remember ordering it.  I am so glad I didn’t give it away or send it back!!!  The Thirteenth Tale is a wonderful read, spiked with intrigue and familial secrets.  It explores the special bond between twins, plays with the idea of ghosts and keeps you guessing until the final scenes.  Loved. It.  I’ve ordered another copy and somebody is getting this book for Christmas (not sure who, but somebody).  It was the kind of book that had me so wrapped up in it, I was sad to finish it.  No knitting—-of any value—-got done on the plane (I haven’t yet mastered knitting and reading at the same time).

Now it’s time for a New WordSeptentrional is and adjective meaning northern.  Yep, northern.  Why we need another word for northern is anyone’s guess, but as you may have guessed, it’s roots are what make this word interesting:

 “What does ‘septentrional’ have in common with the month of September and the Big Dipper?  The Latin word septum meant ‘seven’ and September was the seventh month in the earliest Roman calendar.  We picked up ‘septentrional’ from septentriones, a Latin word used to describe either of two prominent constellations of the northern sky: Ursa Major (Latin for Greater Bear) or Ursa Minor (Lesser Bear), also known as the Big Dipper and the Little Dipper, respectively.  Septentriones in turn derives from septem plus triones, meaning ‘plowing oxen.'”

Got it???  Good.  I’m off to knit 🙂

26 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

26 responses to “Joyful, joyful, we adore thee…….

  1. You are ever a font of knowledge. Truly, however, that is a word is not one I’ll be incorporating into my vocabulary;-)
    The entrelac is looking great and magical! Enjoy your snowy day. Wish we had a bit of that strom.

  2. I can’t see out the windows due to the blizzard. Guess I just have to settle in for a day of spinning. Entrelac is fun, isn’t it?

  3. The entrelac is coming along beautifully! I love the colors.

    And believe it or not, I’ve actually heard of septentrional. Can’t pronounce it though. 🙂

  4. Um, I think I’ll stick with “northern”! I hope Brad gets home so you can be snowed in together – much better! Love your entrelac. 🙂

  5. That pattern is one that is yelling the loudest, and it isn’t even in my house! I’d have to go to the store to get the book. But the Lorna’s Laces “Forest” yarn is thinking it wants to be a Lady Elizabeth, too!

    The sweater is not happy.

  6. Wow, that is beautiful! The color of that yarn is working out great for the entrelac.

    The blizzard is immense over here in Morrison. Where are you? I mean woah. I’ll tell you, this is my first time to be in this much snow. The drifts against our doors are about four feet right now.

    Keep warm!

  7. Good luck with digging out! We have it as rain now. Hope your holidays are warm and wonderful, despite the lifestyle interruption.

  8. I broke down and blew the yarn diet. I have a bunch of the Soy Wool Stripes at my house in Natural Plum. Enough for a sweater! But I really like the entrelac. Decisions, decisions, decisions…

  9. Love the entrelac! I simply must try that some time soon.

    Hope you Survived the Blizzard!

    Marly

  10. Hi
    Hmm, this oriole is more hoarse than that blank krill. mp3 audio players review

  11. Завод изготовитель предлагает:
    Стекло тонированное плазменно-дуговым напылением.
    Виды продукции: матированное, солнцезащитное, энергосберегающее, самоочищающееся, комбинированное.
    Самовывоз. Справки по тел: 80501439517

  12. Hi, admin.
    Just checking speed of my hand-posting. You can delete this topic. See you later 😉

  13. Hello there.
    Just found your site. Great job!
    I like it much.
    look here http://live.com

  14. Heh. Nice. I like to flaunt my close highway Wanna joke?) Where does a bird go when it loses its tail? The retail store.

  15. Im Willing To Spread The Word about thisCongratulations on theis amazing site free online christmas game 5198

  16. I’d like to send this letter by Pedo Pthc 5542

  17. I’d like to open a business account http://ikamajasipi.de.tl preeten model empire this dude has no idea of how to treat a woman now if i were there she would b doin more than a little moanin i can telll u 😉

  18. I’d like to open a business account http://hocyfymipifaj.de.tl young bbs sex She is hot, and they both look like they are genuine and enjoying themselves… Much better than the fake crap where the woman is screaming and playing up for the cameras!

  19. Have you got any qualifications? http://cygesomudy.de.tl free preteen stars So hot when she spat on Nomi’s face.. Also Naomi cant talk dirty at all lol.. but shes got an amazing ass soo.. w,e

Leave a Reply

