Catching Up

Happy Monday!   I hope that all of you had a wonderful holiday weekend, stuffed yourselves silly, and found the bargain of a lifetime.  Thanksgiving at Black Sheep Central was full of food and lot’s of wine and fun, family and friends and a good time was had by all. 

Now, on to all the other things I’ve been doing (other than blogging). 

The astute among you will realize that I am NOT at work today; although rumor had it that today would be my official hire day, and that I would be on the job this morning, I am not.  I am still waiting to receive official government paperwork, obtain the proper identification and so forth in order to start.  Yes, I’ve made phone calls, yes, I’ve sent email to the appropriate parties.  I’m still waiting, and worrying about it has done nothing.  I am hoping to hear back from my new boss soon, but in the meanwhile………………

 alpaca

Last Saturday (18th) the the girls met up to go to the Alpaca Holiday Extravaganza up in Black Forest.  There are many, many alpaca ranchers in this part of the world, and I was on the hunt for two things: a black fleece and some batt, in brown tones. 

heathcliff 

This bit of yumminess is from a fella named Heathcliff—I got a pound of fleece for a killer price, and it is truly to die for—-soft, and light and beautifully crimped.  The downside is that I need to flick/pick/siftout the bits of hay, other than that, it is clean and ready to spin.  I also bought a small batt (Nicodemus). 

And there’s been knitting!  Several days ago, Darcie joined me for the day, and I got a wild hair to knit up some wee socks for decoration: 

wee stockings

The red is some Ausie wool I’ve had in the stash for years, but the gray………the GRAY is MY HANDSPUN (mystery wool).  I am so completely thrilled with the way it has knit up, beautiful and even—-I have to say I am really impressed with myself (at least in regards to this little bit of spinning).  This is the same wool that I picked up at Estes in June, mill ends from Brown Sheep, and I have 2 pounds of the stuff.  It’s going to take me ages to get it all spun up, but I had a couple hundred yards ready to go, and decided to give it a try.  Couldn’t be more pleased.  And for those of you who were privy to this discussion earlier—-the fact that it’s completely unbalanced didn’t make a lick of difference, at least in this project. 

 

Birthday knitting…….one mostly done, birthday last Friday.  Can’t do everything.

And Christmas Cards nearly ready to go. 

And decked halls.

Thanks for all of your sweet emails and comments after the last post.  My melancholy is due in part to Alex and Tony’s decision to go back to Washington.  I’ll not share all the details here, but needless to say, just as I was getting used to having Alex around, loving the idea that he’d bein town and I’d get to see him, do coffee and lunch, he’s decided to return to the Northwet, and his old job, before Christmas.  Sorta took the wind out of my sails. 

Some time ago, with the boys living on there own, I purposed in my heart to NOT be the kind of mother who uses manipulation and guilt to influence their decisions.  I’ve known parents, moms and dads, who are skilled in this technique, and sad to say, I think it comes naturally.  It is really hard, for me anyway, to step away from the situation, tell myself  “it’s not about me,” and give my grown sons space to make their own choices, without me sending them guilt messages.  I don’t always succeed, but I’m working on it, and the emotional energy that it takes, is at times, exhausting.  Given that I am of a certain age, where my emotions are not always as controllable as they once were, I’ve been doing my best to hold it all together, and get Thanksgiving together, and decorate for Christmas, and think about the whirlwind trip to Washington next week, and the potential drive to the homeland for the Holidays (because, don’tcha know that all the inexpensive tickets are gone, and I thought I’d just stay here and keep the guys company) and well, it hasn’t been a pretty week in my cluttered mind.  Toss in the job situation and, well, there ya go.

Now, I think I’ll make a phone call or two—-see if I can figure out what’s up on the job front—–and vacuum up all the signs of merry making around here. 

4 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

4 responses to “Catching Up

  1. I should have been better about pulling out the Holiday decor. Looks like you are well on your way to Holiday cheer as your home looks very festive.
    It’s a hard situation to be in when your children want to move away. You are a good mother to let them take flight without the motherly guilt. They’ll go anyway, so you may as well make it a good parting and know you’ll see them again.

  2. *hug* I’m sorry to hear that the boys headed back to the NW and that things are going so slowly with your job. On the upside, your fibery world looks wonderful!! A brooding black sheep named Heathcliff – too funny!

  3. I’m sorry to hear about the boys departure. But, really you must do a darn good job of not laying on guilt trips or they wouldn’t have given it a try being in Colorado. I’m guessing it is the job situation at least in part that is causing them to return to the northwest?

    I hope the job stuff gets rolling a little faster for you. I know how the waiting can be frustrating!

  4. Well, it is what it is, and you have the requisite insight. I’m sure it still isn’t easy. Would be that all moms were as generous as you.

    LOVE the black fleece. I have a soft spot for ones of that hue.

Leave a Reply

