10-23

Another weekend is history. Do you realize that Christmas is just more than 2 months from now? Yikes.


Saturday. Can I just stop here and say, our merry band of knitters is the best bunch of girls on the planet? I know, I know, you all feel the same way about your best girls (and guys), but seriously, we have such a good time every week that I actually look forward to getting up on Saturday mornings; we genuinely like each other, support each other and encourage each other to more and more fibery pursuits (read: enable 🙂 ). Last Saturday we were welcomed back to the Llama Store and able to use their fabulous classroom space for a spin-in. Linda, Christy, Anne and I brought our wheels, Kirsten was using one of Christy’s wonderful drop spindles, and Ellen, Brie, Maus, Sabine, Darcie and Phoebe knit. My goal for the day was to fill my third bobbin of mystery wool and get a skein plied up, and although I didn’t get it done with the group, I did manage to get a skein plied before the day was through:

I have a question now for any of you spinners who are no doubt much more experienced than I am. While beautiful, the three ply I’ve made up is completely unbalanced. Does it matter? What difference will it make to a knitted object? Will it work out in the bath? And one more: when plying, if you get a break in one ply, how do you handle it?

Saturday afternoon, we went to a wedding. Here’s what I saw:


…..beautiful, no? It was quite the wedding though, the bride was given away by her father, our former pastor while his father (also a minister) officiated. Then the father of the bride officiated, giving the message, hearing the vows and presiding over the exchange of rings. At this point, the brides uncle (also a pastor) took the reigns and watched over a unity ceremony and communion, after which the dad took over while the families gathered around the kneeling couple to pray over them. He then allowed his new son to kiss his bride and presented them as husband and wife, and I have to say he did a remarkable job of holding it all together, though you could hear his throat catch from time to time. Wish I coulda seen it.

Sunday, most of our group was on puppy watch. Our girl Anne breeds beautiful Samoyeds, and her girl Kelly was ready to burst. I’ll save all the details for Anne (check out this link, then follow it to the KellyCam for live pictures), but I will say that ALL of us were surprised by the litter. In addition to puppy watch, Alex and I had a nice coffee date, picked up a few groceries and I got some knitting done while I watched the Bronco’s game and caught up with a few things on the TiVo.

And now for a quick reading update: Last week I finished both Justice Hall by Laurie King, and Leonardo’s Swans by Karen Essex. Both were excellent!

First, Justice Hall. I’ve had this book on my shelf for a couple years, and as I got into it realized that it is part of a series, the 6th book, in fact. I had to decide if I should press on, or stop and go back to the beginning—-I like reading things in order, do you? Anyway, I pressed on and the book was great. The premise is (and I have to go back now and read the first 5), that Sherlock Holmes meets a young woman (15 I think) and takes her on as an apprentice, at some point marrying her. Together, they continue to use their skills as detectives. I heartily recommend it!

Leonardo’s Swans is one of my favorite kinds of book. It is reminiscent of The Birth of Venus (which I loved), and In the Company of the Courtesan (which I also loved), both by Sarah Dunant. It is a book rich with Italian history, and the political intrigue of the early renaissance. This particular story involves two sisters, one whom marries the Marquis of Mantua, and her younger sister who marries the regent of Milan, the famous Il Moro, Ludovico Sforza. Leonardo DaVinci plays a roll, albeit minor, that adds flavor to the story. I could not put it down.

3 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

3 responses to “10-23

  1. I’ve only done one three ply so far and it took a while to figure out the balance on it, as it isn’t as easy to guesstimate with three plies as it is with two.

    The ply will redistribute itself some with a wash and a few whacks. If it isn’t overly unbalanced you can weight it a bit. It will reduce the elasticity of the yarn somewhat, but will balance it. If it is just a tiny bit I would leave it. It can make the knitting bias slightly if it isn’t balanced so a rectangular piece might not be rectangular or you might get some slight spiralling in something like a hat or socks.

    Thanks for the reading update!

  2. Was there seriously a giant floral arrangement in front of you the whole time? Was the person who did the decorating high?

  3. I have also only done one 3-ply, so I really don’t know. Christy’s recommendation makes sense, so
    that’s what I would do in your case.
    You are right; we have a great group of people at our knitmeets. I always look forward to Saturday mornings.

Leave a Reply

