meme and youyou

It’s grey and gloomy here today, and I’m having a tough time getting myself motivated to do anything. My mind is as foggy as the weather, and I haven’t done anything remotely “blog worthy” in days. I’ve thought about posting one of the meme’s currently running around blogland, but I can’t think of 10 knitterly things you don’t know about me, and choosing my top ten pieces of music would be impossible, so let’s start another discussion; Do you knit for Christmas? Have you started yet? What (if you can tell) will you be knitting this year? What sorts of things are on you knitting wish list?

I’ll start (smile). I sometimes knit for Christmas, though usually it’s a project that I’ve been working on for some time and just happen to finish around Christmas. Last year, I decided that new Christmas stockings were in order and I knit 6 before it was all over. This year the only Christmas knitting on my list is a pair of mittens. One of the resolutions I made (for lack of a better word) was to do NO MORE deadline knitting, and for the most part, I’ve stuck to that mantra. Yes, I have done a couple KAL’s, like the Knitting Olympics and the Trek Along, but aside from the Olympics, there was no hard and fast deadline.

As for this years X-mas mittens, I have not started them yet, but they should be fairly quick as they are a simple pattern.

On my wish list are the KnitPicks Options needles, the Alden Amos spinning book and some extra bobbins for my wheels. I’m sure I’ll be adding to the list as the holiday’s draw closer.

Now, I must get going, little dude just called and wants me to join him for lunch……it’s pretty hard to say no to a 3 year old. Plus, there’s a camping trip to get ready for 🙂

6 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

6 responses to “meme and youyou

  1. Knitting for Christmas is a tough way to go. We devalue our time by cranking out things just for the Holidays just because we knit. I’d rather give spontaneously.

    My wish list is anything to do with spinning. I’m so new at it I need lots of help!

  2. I don’t know yet if I’m going to knit for christmas. If I can bear to part with the qiviut scarf I’m currently knitting, then it might go to my mom. I also might see if I can make something manly out of Apollo’s fleece for my husband, but I’m making no promises.

    As for my wish list; honestly I haven’t given that a thought yet.

    ~ Ellen

  3. I don’t think I’ll be doing any Christmas knitting this year. Everyone on my side has at least one thing knit by me now. I *may* do a pair of socks for DH since we aren’t really exchanging gifts this year. But we’ll see. Plus, his b-day is a month after Christmas so if I don’t make the deadline they’ll be birthday socks instead 🙂

    Your knitting wishlist sounds like a good place to start!

  4. Hmmmm, let’s see. Right now I don’t have any Christmas knitting planned, which means nothing other than I’ll probably knit for someone, but haven’t started thinking about it yet.

    I still have to finish Meg’s present from last Christmas. All of the knitting is done, but the assembly isn’t.

    On the wish list is the Color in Spinning book the Harlot was talking about today, because I really want to improve my spinning in the up-coming year. I haven’t defined anything else specific.

  5. Maybe a pair of socks or two for Xmas knitting. We’ll see!

Leave a Reply

