Wish I was There

It’s Favorite Foto Friday!

May 2005……want to go back…..’nuff said.

I’ve been thinking a lot in recent days about my life, partly due to watching The Mermaid Chair the other day. When I “read” the book (audible.com) it really struck a chord with me, not that I am anxious to run off and have an affair with a monk, but the place in which Jessie (the main character) found herself. In her early 40’s, her daughter off to college she finds herself reflecting on her place in the world, longing in some ways for independence, for value and significance separate and apart from her roll as daughter, wife and mother. I think it’s a common feeling among those of us of a certain age; that we turn inward and try to figure out what’s next. For me, it seems like my life has been one of waiting. Waiting for birthdays and Christmas’s, waiting for school to start, to let out for the summer and then waiting to be done. Waiting for love, waiting to get married, waiting to have children. Waiting for my husband to get home, waiting for the kids to come home from school, waiting to find out where we would move next. I’ve waited 3 times now for Brad to finish his degree’s; now I’m waiting for him to finish the his PhD dissertation—waiting to have our lives back. I wait for my adult children to phone, to return phone calls or messages, wait for them to think beyond themselves. I’m waiting to see the harvest of what was planted. I’m waiting for the perfect job to come along, waiting for the cooler days of fall, waiting for my next opportunity to run away with the camper. Waiting for the feelings of being lost and adrift to pass.

I don’t think any of this is abnormal. I think, like I said, that all of us become reflective from time to time. I think it’s an important part of growth, that to keep on keepin’ on without introspection leads to stagnation and boredom. To examine oneself is a necessary part of becoming what you are meant to be in this world. To shut the door on reflection is to become an automaton, something less than vital. I know there are people who don’t want to be challenged to think outside the box, that it’s a threat to their well thought out lives. Anything that upsets or challenges the status quo is bad, sinful. I’ve chosen to expose myself to a broad range of experiences with the belief that one cannot truly believe anything until they can believe it when challenged.

To borrow a oft heard phrase…….Can I get a witness??

Have a fabulous weekend, full of fibery adventures and family fun 🙂

11 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

11 responses to “Wish I was There

  1. Waiting is something a lot of do a lot of, isn’t it? I remember being soooo excited to get my driver’s license because it would be no more waiting for rides to/from town etc. Only it turned into even more waiting as I would complete my activities and have to wait around for my sister’s to be over, LOL! Do we ever stop waiting so much??

    Your post really sparked some thought, thanks!

  2. Great post, and lots to think about. It’s easy to talk about living in the moment and enjoying life as it “is” instead of what it “might be”. Not so easy to do all the time. I might have to pick up that book next time I have an audible credit.

  3. Melissa G

    Interesting, thought -ful and -provoking post, especially as a coworker and I recently had a discussion about our roles and how we balance self, wife, mother, professional, dog owner. . . I said there is no answer but to keep an ongoing conversation about where/who we are and what we are doing about that.

  4. Don’t keep waiting, get out there and live your life. Before you know it, your life will be over and you will have spent the whole time waiting on something.

    Waiting isn’t living.

    “How much of human life is lost in waiting?”
    — Ralph Waldo Emerson

  5. Anonymous

    This post has been removed by a blog administrator.

  6. So how was The Mermaid Chair movie? I read the book when it came out and I enjoyed it. I TiVod the movie but haven’t watched it yet. I’d love to know what you thought of it.
    And the rest of your post, about waiting for things to happen? I get that. And it’s why I knit. I knit while I’m *waiting*.

  7. I hear ya sistah! Life is what happens while you’re making other plans (or not planning as the case may be). You’ve heard that before too, right?

  8. hmm, that was a thoughtful post.
    I find myself NOT waiting but DOING.
    Do Yoga, live in the moment, observe yourself, its wonderful.
    I am a patient person, but to wait for all the other things and people to happen is very fruitless.
    Instead of waiting for people to come home, know when they come and do something in the time until they are there.
    Instead of waiting for gardens to grow, do some weeding and watering and pass the time that way.
    Kiss a tree today!

  9. Great post! Although some folks said “don’t wait..do”..I am in total agreement with you, one needs to reflect on how we have handled certain situations and it helps us in our lives going forward. I am with you and I am sure you are not physically waiting but it is an emotional one..take good care.

  10. Very insightful post! I guess we all do at least *some* waiting, albeit in the check-out line at the grocery store, in traffic, or for our children to become the responsible adults we know they will become.
    I don’t have children, so I don’t know much about that part, but I find myself waiting for the danged dog to finish hiking up his leg, the llama to come and eat his grain, the goats to get back into their night enclosure, and I wait for my workaholic husband to come home for dinner. No major things to wait for, and no big deal for me. I like to slow down the pace of life a little. I have been part of the hectic rat race. Been there, got the t-shirt. I’m so fortunate to be able to take the dogs for a walk, watch the sunset, grab my spinning wheel and get into a spinning trance whenever I feel like doing so.

    Life is what you make of it. Reflecting on your life and your role in life is a healthy thing. It means you are not going through life with blinders on. Stop and smell the roses. And stop feeling guilty about doing it.

    I have a feeling you know this already, I’m preaching to the choir…..

    ~ Ellen

  11. What Kathy said. Sometimes it’s merely a change of attitude, a shift in thought process. Other times it is a complete alteration of what you are doing.

    We aren’t here long. I don’t think we are here to wait.

Leave a Reply

