What a day!

So, I’m laying in bed this morning, easing myself into consciousness, and thinking, I don’t have to hurry, there’s nothing on the calendar for today, I can take my time….when the phone rings. Eva is inviting me to join her for breakfast—-she has taken the day off, little dude is in pre-school for the day and she’s ready for a girlie day out.

Up I hop, make myself presentable and off we go to a nearby eatery for breakfast, complete with champagne (mimosa for me, something with cranberry for Eva). From there, we went hunting for a dress to wear to the shindig at the end of September. Now I must pause here and say that while I appreciate a bargain as much as the next gal, I really don’t like to hunt for it. Eva, on the other hand, loves to sort through the offerings at Ross, so that’s where we ended up. After trying on 9 or 10 options, I bought 2…..and a pair of shoes. For less than half of what I would have spent on the dress that wouldn’t zip.

After a trip to turn in outgrown toys and clothes at the children’s resale shop, we headed to a new pub in the neighborhood for an adult beverage and bite to eat—neat little place, good food, great bar, pool tables and more big screen TV’s than a body could keep track of. What’s up with that, anyway? I find the televisions to be a distraction when I’m in a restaurant, do you? It would be a great place to go with a group, maybe to watch Monday Night Football, but a lousy place to take a date, just sayin’.

From there, we were off to find some earrings to wear with the dress, a quick trip through PayLess Shoes and Target, and back home again—-a successful day all in all.

AND….it’s someone’s birthday too.

This lovely lady was born just before the Great Depression, in Northern California, and after her brother came along 18 months later and logging industry all but shut down, the little family moved back to the homestead in Snohomish, Washington, where 2 more brothers joined the family. Her father died when she was just a little girl, leaving her mom to raise 4 children on the small farm, during the depression. As she grew up, she took care of the boys while her Mom earned a paycheck, and to hear her tell it, they were not always eager to cooperate. After high school she went to business college and then got a job with Alaska Airlines (the only woman in a shop full of men). She met and married her husband in 1953, and settled into a little yellow house on Beverly Lane. Eight years later, she became my mother.

Our days were full of mudpies and dancing lessons. I remember taking trips downtown, eating at the dime store soda fountain and buying little packages of plastic jewelry. I remember pouring over the Sears Catalog for school clothes, trips to the beauty school for haircuts, and home perms. When I was in high school, Mom made my prom dresses, helped me choose and buy bouteniers for my dates and waited up for me to get home. Though she is not the demonstrative type, I never doubted for a single minute her love for me.

Over the years there have been vacations and holidays together; D.C. the Grand Canyon and Disneyland in more recent years. A couple years ago, while we were living in Washington, we bought season tickets to the 5th, and looked forward to each and every show. And even though I now live several states away, I look forward to our times together.

Happy Birthday Mom—-I hope it’s a great one.

(new word wednesday will return next week)

6 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

6 responses to “What a day!

  1. Awww. Happy Birthday to your sweet Mom!
    Glad you and Eva had a great girls day out too!

  2. Sounds like you had a great and fun day. And that’s a wonderful tribute to your mom. Happy Birthday to her!

  3. your mom sounds like a terrific person. Happy Birthday mom!

  4. Happy Birthday to your mother! What a wonderful woman to have in your life.

  5. Belated happy birthday to your mom!

    Sounds like you had a lovely day, too.

  6. Happy birthday, Mom! What a wonderful tribute.

Leave a Reply

