Overload

I have a confession to make; I am a news junkie. As my mind awakes in the morning and consciousness returns, the first thing I do is turn on the news. Half awake and semi-reclined I check in on what’s happening in the world. During the day, I check in every few hours; in the car I listen to talk radio, if there is a big story unfolding, the TV is on, either as background music or with me planted in front with some knitting. But I’ve just about had it with the wall to wall coverage of John Mark Karr and his connection, however strangely, with the murder of JonBenet Ramsey. Did you know, for instance, that there was a major plane crash in Russia in the last several hours? Did you know that today is a major day on the Muslim calendar, and being heralded by some as a doomsday? Probably not…..but we know what Karr had for breakfast this morning. Geesh.

What is it that draws us to this sort of sensational news? Is it our own rather average or hum drum lives that yearn for a juicy crime story? Is it the case itself, that the murder of a little girl almost 10 years ago still has the power of a train wreck—-we hate to see the carnage but can’t seem to look away? Is it our overload with war and fighting and terrorism that has spawned our hunger for diversion? I don’t know. But here I sit, unable to divert my attention. I know I just need to push the button, but something in me wants to know all there is to know.

In knitting news, I’m working my way up the hand of the second mitten, and should get that finished up sometime today. The sock gained only a couple rows yesterday, but might get some attention later on today. The shawl is on hold until after the mitten, as is Alex’s cardi.

And so, I think I’ll find the televisions off button and get on with some knitting. What has captured your attention today?

7 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

7 responses to “Overload

  1. I listen to NPR in the morning and then music the rest of the day. I used to listen to many sources of news, read as many newspapers (on-line and in print) as I could and listen to many others, too. It’s just too much sometimes. Now I listen a little to news here and there and but mostly enjoy music. O and I did know about the Muslim holiday and the plane crash, too. (Mmmm, maybe I am still a news junkie).

  2. I listen to the radio on the way to work and then that’s it. I do get CNN breaking news emails but I try to avoid the overload of information.

  3. I am definitely a news junkie too. I listen to talk radio all day long at work and in the car on the way to and from the office. (so i did know about the plane crash and the muslim holiday). If I had my way I would watch CNN all day at home, but I don’t have control of the remote.

    I was fascinated by the JonBenet case when it first occurred because I was so convinced that any parent who would subject their child to beauty pageants must have killed their child. Several years later I felt really guilty feeling that way. Now I don’t know what to think because I’m not convinced Karr did it. But then–am I just relying on the media to tell me what to think?

  4. The MPR music station I listen to has some news highlights in the morning – if I hear them when I go to work, I hear them; if not, oh well. I’ve been finding the news crushingly depressing and find I do a lot better not following it at all.

  5. Melissa G

    I am out of touch, but I once heard a news anchor describe how they “market” their news based on input from focus groups–very interesting indeed.

  6. I miss watching the news. (We did have it on today though) I just think it’s too much for my kids to see/hear. And trust me, I am not an overprotective parent. They just already ask 500 questions a day and I can barely handle that!

  7. News marketing – and baiting the audience has turned me off news. I watch Lehrer News Hour if I am in the house and trying to get a couple of poodells to eat (fussy eaters – even with canned food). Karr/Ramsey – who knows. It’ll come out or not.

Leave a Reply

