No clever title today……

I’m getting lazy, I know. In the past, I’ve been very good about getting a post up first thing in the morning, but the last couple days have not worked out that way—yesterday because of appointments, today, well, I have no excuse. I stayed in bed watching the news, then meandered downstairs to let the dogs out. Over coffee I finished up recording discs with an audible book for hubby to listen to in the car during his commute. And, I finished mitten number 1:

This marks the first bit of knitting from my own handspun yarn, a milestone if you ask me. It may not be as perfect as a store bought mitten, but it’s pretty special, thinks I. They will be a birthday present this fall.

Spinning has continued, though not on the Romney—-I’m just having such a good time with the baby alpaca I have spent most of my time playing with that. I’ve about got the first bobbin filled. Zorro ventured upstairs last night, rubbing himself on the wheel while it was spinning.

As for the Romney, it is rather slow going. I am stopping the wheel a lot to pick out the neps, and while there are not as many as in the roving which will not be named, there are enough that flicking them out is worth it. My plan is to make a 3 ply yarn from the singles, which are nice and fine, and end up with a sport weight to light worsted yarn. Perhaps I can get to the wheel later today.

In other news, I finished a very clever book yesterday, The Book of Bright Ideas, by Sandra Kring. Fun read, and entirely captivating. It used to be that I would read whatever I could get my hands on, but with all the other things vying for my attention these days, I don’t read as often as I would like, I guess. Waiting on the nightstand are Arthur and George, and The Bronte Project. Hmmmmmm, which to choose?

And now Favorite Foto Friday:

We arrived at the Lake on the 2nd of July, late. After a night of marshmallows, s’mores and laughter, I got up early the next morning and took my coffee out to the deck. This is what I saw—a glassy lake with a misty fog hanging over it. Later in the day the sun was shining brightly, we had twentysomethings jumping off the dock and the barbecue cookin’. But in the quiet of the morning……………..there’s just no better place to be 🙂

Have a great weekend.

12 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

12 responses to “No clever title today……

  1. You should be really really proud of that mitten! Gorgeous lake photo, too.

  2. The mitten is beautiful! From the detail I can see it the picture, the yarn look really even.

    Where was the photo taken? It looks like such a peaceful place.

  3. (The boat photo is the one I’m asking about in the second paragraph.)

  4. I love the mitten! The yarn is great. These will be a one-of-a-kind, you-are-so-lucky-to-be-getting-these present.

    I will admit to loving to knit mittens, they are fun and reasonably quick, unless you knit them for my family. Remind me to tell you that story…

  5. Your mitten looks fabulous! I’ve been spinning for quite a while….and have yet to make something with my handspun. You should be sooo proud!

  6. Sorry to be so late to read you! The mitten is great! How fun to make something beautiful and useful with your handspun. I wrote down the books you recommended so I can read them, too. And your picture evokes a calm, slightly chilly morning in a quiet wood…very nice.

  7. Lovely mitten! The color is wonderful, the yarn fabulous!

    I spun up all those odds and ends of roving – samples I shared with you – and am back to my basic black: Bliss merino. You visited at a good time. I don’t usually have that much of a selection in my stash.

  8. I think the mitten is absolutely more perfect than any storebought one! The subtle color changes are lovely!

  9. I love that picture of the dock. And congrats on your handspun mitten – it looks great!

  10. The mitten looks great! Good job!

  11. Anyone can have a store bought mitten. How many people can actually have a mitten they spin and knit? It looks great.

  12. Great mitts! That photo of the lake is wonderful. Looks so serene. Can’t wait to find The Book of Bright Ideas. Enjoy your blog!

Leave a Reply

