……and back again

Let’s see, where did we leave off?

We left Lynden, with a full car and some fresh berries and headed back to Seattle. Brad had dropped off his dissertation at the U for a formatting check and as they were not open over the weekend, we needed to retrieve it before close of business on Friday. It was not ready. Drats. We bought a jumbo envelope, postage and returned to the office, then decided to capitalize on fact that we were in the city and headed to the Pike Place Market for a bite to eat (fish and chips, of course).

We bought flowers, and fruit…..

……then headed north a bit toward my Mom’s house. We stopped by Brett’s bike shop and then enjoyed an impromptu dinner with he and Cora (again at The Keg) before getting to Mom’s and crawling into bed.

Sunday morning we took off toward Portland, where Brad’s sister J lives. Brett, Cora and a couple others from the shop were mid-way through the annual Seattle to Portland Bicycle Classic—-204 miles in 2 days—and we were slated to drive Brett’s car down so they had a way home. Alex came along to drive them back. They made really good time, and beat us to the finish line; when we caught up with them at the finish line festivities, they were tired, but excited to have made it. No injuries, one flat tire. About 9000 people participated this year, some doing all 204 miles in one day, one guy doing the entire ride on a longboard (skateboard). The kids are excited to participate in a ride for MS in the fall. Keep your eyes open for a chance to donate! Here are Brett, Cora and Blair….three out of four of the team.

After pizza and beer (ample amounts of both), and lots of hugs, the kids left us in Portland and headed home.

Portland, Oregon, is a great city, one made up of neighborhoods, each with a slightly different flavor. J had just moved into a brand new home in December…..and what a house! This is a new generation of home, very “green.” The house (and the other three on the block just like it) have mostly concrete construction, concrete floors and wall create thermal mass, and the floors incorporate radiant heating. Rainwater is collected on the roof and driveway to provide outdoor water and water to flush the toilets. Hot water is made using solar energy, and solar panels generate electricity for the local utility company. Any hardwood is bamboo. The interior is sleek and urban, and J had done a great job of decorating it will new furniture and linens. The guest room/suite was heavenly, and J goes out of her way to make guests comfy. We had a great time. Thank you J!

We checked out a fantastic newish yarn shop, which was everything a yarn shop should be, including a cafe. I met the owner, Pat Thom, at camp last year, just before she opened the store, and I’ve wanted to see the store since then. Even Brad was impressed.

From there……….well, you’ll just have to wait for later.

Now, a New Word (did you miss this??). Today’s word is convoke, a verb which means: to call together a meeting. What intrigues me about this word is it’s origin and how it relates to so many other words. Here’s what my little calendar says:

The Latin noun vox (“voice”) and the related verb vocare (“to call”) have given rise to many English words, including “convoke.” Other English descendants of those roots are usually spelled with “voc” or “vok” and have to do with speaking or calling. Thus a “vocation” is a special calling to a type of work; an “evocative” site or smell calls forth memories and feelings; and a “vocal” ensemble is a singing group. “Provoke,” “irrevocable,” “equivocate,” and “vociferous” are just a few other vox/vocare derivatives.

When I started this post I was yet to extract myself from my bed; between the travel, the return to altitude after 3 weeks at sea level and the busy days since our return….I’m pooped. Today, there were errands to run and packing to do so I can hop on a plane in the morning. I had the news on (Iraq’s Prime Minister was speaking to congress), and the computer was in my lap, as I completely resisted the pull of the morning, and the events of the day. But Blogger being blogger, I could not get my pictures to load (ya’ll want pictures, right?), so I headed out to run the errands and now I’m in a bit of intermission between the errands and picking up the doggie friends from the groomer.

That’s all for now—I may or may not be around for the next few days, but I’ll pick things up where I’ve left off when I can.

TaTa for now!

5 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

5 responses to “……and back again

  1. Thanks for sharing your vacation with us, especially in the midst of getting ready to go back out there…

    I’ve heard of convocation, but not the base workd before.

  2. I missed you and your new word. Also miss Pike Street Market. It’s such a wonderful place to shop and watch people and eat. Reading the NYTs while enjoying a coffee al fresco is one of my favoite PSM memories.
    It can be tough to get back into the swing of things after a long time away. Take care and we’ll be waiting for your next update!

  3. Don’t you just love the origin of words? One of my favorite things. Nice pics of your vacay. Love the green house!

  4. Portland is a wonderful city. I like the idea of the green house. I wanted to pipe my shower water to the garden when I moved into my current house, and the builder just laughed.

  5. Anonymous

    For those interested: on J’s house the water harvesting only includes the roof, not the driveway. (who wants to flush their .. with greasy water?)

    – Brad

Leave a Reply

