Progress…..finally

I’ve just finished making the reservations for our trip to Washington—-here’s what I’ve learned.

1. Traveling on a holiday weekend is nuts. Motels are either booked or outlandishly expensive.

2. You might as well forget about getting “last minute” reservations near anything interesting, unless of course you would like to stay at the Four Seasons at $1700 per night.

3. Even with the price of gas, and the absurd hotel rates, it’s still cheaper to drive.

4. The motel tax in Idaho is 11%.

5. It pays to plan ahead.

My frustration at it’s peak, I decided to forego the meandering trip through Yellowstone and take a more direct route. We can meander on the way back, when the holiday madness has past. Between now and then, there is time to come up with a plan.

This afternoon I plan to devote myself to spinning and knitting, as it seems there has been precious little progress on those fronts. I’ve been playing around with the fiber I brought home from Cathy’s the other day, just little bits of this and that, to see how I like each fiber. I’d like to do a bit more of that, and also some experimenting with spinning “fatter” singles. It seems that since the spinning faerie visited, I can only spin thin stuff. The other option would be to ply more than 2 singles together….another worthwhile experiment. Somewhere on the list is coming up with a fiber containment plan. As I was showing my friend Eva (a non-knitter) all the fibery goodies the other day, her comment was “girl, you’ve got a problem.” Obviously she knows nothing about stash. And truly, it’s all relative. I’ve got stash, but not flowing out of closets, cupboards and baskets. In fact all of what I have would fit into a couple 33 gallon bins—-yarn included.

But the fact remains, I cannot just keep all the ziplocks full of fiber on the chair in the family room, and hiding under the accent table. A plan must be developed. And pretty soon too.

I’ve actually been thinking about reappropriating one of the linen closets upstairs for fiber storage…but that would mean finding other places for most of the linens in the closet. Storing the linens in the rooms in which they are to be used makes the most sense to me, and would free up a good amount of space, but it will take

some figuring any way you look at it, and thus far I’ve not been up to the task or not bothered enough by my “problem” to do anything about it.

Thanks for the comments and emails on yesterday’s post. I usually hesitate before going on like that, what with this being a knitting blog and all, but your comments were so good that I suppose it’s okay to deviate now and then. Perhaps in the future I may venture into news items I find particularly interesting (or galling). Speaking of which, did any of you catch the story yesterday about Brad Pitt scheduling a routine dental exam in Namibia because they could provide tighter security?? Seems Mr. Pitt will return to Africa in the fall for x-rays and a routine cleaning, where the government will pratically close the border and create a no fly zone over the dental office. The dental x-rays are to be sold, with the money given to charity.

Good gravy.

(edited….I tried to find the aritcle mentioned above earlier, thanks Kathy for pointing me in the right direction. Thank goodness it is satirical, though I have to say, with all of Brangelina’s recent antics, it’s within the realm of possibility. See the link, mentioned in Kathy’s comment).

8 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

8 responses to “Progress…..finally

  1. Ok, the sheer freakiness of that news item has driven everything else in your post out of my head. What the hell?? Maybe he could just get his dental work done domestically and donate the cost of airplane fuel to charity…

  2. What is this world coming to? Sheeesh! Travel is tough even in the best of times. The idea of cleaning out the linen closet is a good one. You can have your stash right where you need it;-)

  3. Your singles are so lovely and even. Funny how spinning fine gets to be habitual. I need to put a bunch of the spinning information I accumulated on a CD and send down to you. Cabled yarns sounds like a plan πŸ™‚

    Let me know how the linen closet idea works.

  4. Man, I have zip locks of fiber samples scattered all over and tucked under a variety of chairs πŸ™‚ I too need to organize one of these days. But, alas, I’ve much rather spend that time trying to spin all that fiber πŸ™‚

  5. I got to thinking I could share one of my ideas for keeping ziplock bags under control – I have a basket with a lid on it. I can tuck the bags in the basket and it looks decorative etc. I bought it at Pier 1 Import in the 70s. You should be able find something similar if you are so inclined. But you saw that most of my projects reside in a cubby of the entertainment center – out of Guppy’s reach. The basket was too much temptation and he could knock it over and well…you know.

  6. I got to thinking I could share one of my ideas for keeping ziplock bags under control – I have a basket with a lid on it. I can tuck the bags in the basket and it looks decorative etc. I bought it at Pier 1 Import in the 70s. You should be able find something similar if you are so inclined. But you saw that most of my projects reside in a cubby of the entertainment center – out of Guppy’s reach. The basket was too much temptation and he could knock it over and well…you know.

  7. Travel is no fun anymore. It’s such a shame. Glad you had a wonderful time at Estes, though.

Leave a Reply

