Sorry Laurie…..

…….to keep you waiting, waiting, waiting.

We had a VERY full weekend and got back home yesterday evening around 7:30. After unloading the van, putting stuff away and all that happens when you’ve come home from camping, I just couldn’t bring myself to write a synopsis of all that happened. Besides, the spinning wheel was calling my name.

We headed up to Estes Park and the Rocky Mountain National Park on Friday. You know how it goes; Hubby says “I’m thinking we’ll leave first thing in the morning…” I say “I’m not going to be ready at the crack of dawn…” so nobody hurries and we get out of town at 2 instead of 11 as I was originally thinking. Anyway, we had to make a stop or two, and we waited out a horrendous thunderstorm before putting the awning onto the camper, and finally headed north, arriving at our campsite around 5. We had a nice dinner, figuring out how everything worked on the new camper, a little walk and then I went over the game plan for Saturday morning.

–Here’s the view from our campsite–

Up bright and early, armed with my notes and reference book, we headed into the fairgrounds. There was already quite a line to get into the vendor barn, but the doors opened quickly and we were inside. First thing I saw was a black CVM/Romeldale fleece. Now Cathy had told me, if I saw such a thing from this particular vendor to grab it. After lusting over it for a while, I kept walking—it was the first booth for crying out loud. Two booths down we saw more fleeces, and one in particular had some a heartrending story attached I nearly bought it too. Maeve (the ewe who had worn it) had been killed by a mountain lion shortly after being sheared, along with her lamb, this was the last fleece she would ever grow. But I wanted a soft black fleece, and this one was a honey brown shetland cross. I kept looking. Around the corner I ran into Margene, who had already scored some lovely yarn from Plain and Fancy. We chatted for a minute or two, then we were both off to see what we couldn’t live without.

I have to tell you, a fair like this is a feast for the eyes as well as every other sense. Color everywhere, all different textures, raw fleece, roving, yarn, and things knitted up. There were wheels and drop spindles, drum carders and combs, looms and needles; a banquet everywhere you looked. Brad was particularly interested in the tools, of course. I was after fiber, and bobbins for my wheel. I made at least three sweeps through the barn on Saturday, and I know I missed something. On my first pass, I was after fiber, and saw little else. We ran into a couple from Brad’s department—-it’s so fun to see people “out of context,” I had no idea Signe was a knitter and grew up around sheep! I’ve invited her to KWA, and she’s anxious to come; a nice break from her two small children.


At 11:00 we met up with all the other bloggers. There was quite a crowd, and being rather new, I hung back a bit. I did meet Kristi, and Carole, and Melissa (blogless) in addition to Margene, before we decided to grab some lunch. We settled on BBQ—-I just couldn’t bring myself to eat lamb at a Wool Market. We took our plates to the grandstand to watch the llama agility/obstacle course competition, and there we met up with (blogless) MJ and her hubby, Linda and Ellen (the enabler). Linda was about to take the plunge and buy a wheel (remember how we taught her to use a drop spindle at the merino shearing??). By the end of the day she had settled on a Majacraft, and was spinning her little heart out in her cabin Saturday night. I ran into Chery and her friends outside the llama barn. During the afternoon we looked at all the animals; sheep, goats, llamas, alpacas, all so cute with beautiful fleeces. We looked at the fleeces entered in the competitions, drooling just a bit. I finally found bobbins for my wheel, in a basket tucked away in a corner, in a corner booth that was so crowded it was almost claustrophobic. We left around 4, the damages being 2lb of wool blend roving (from Brown Sheep), three skeins of Lambs Pride Bulky (black) and three bobbins. No fleece.


The afternoon and evening were spent enjoying the park, first at the Alluvial Fan, where we made sandwiches, and then on a hike around Bear Lake (note the socks—one done, one in the middle of the heel flap). The bears didn’t get the memo that they were supposed to be hanging out there, so we saw none. We did see an elk and a wild turkey. Although we’ve seen tons and tons of elk in the park, this was our first turkey sighting. Brad did a little fishing in Glacier Creek, got one nibble but no fishies.

Sunday was my day to meet up with Cathy, so after Brad spent an hour or so fishing first thing in the morning (while I slept in), we went back to the market. I met up with Cathy and we wandered around the market a while before heading to town for some lunch. Cathy bought a small shetland fleece that she is planning to have blended with angora and maybe a little silk. We parted company after lunch, with a plan for Brad and I to stop by her place on our way home on Monday. (I can’t believe neither of us took pictures!!)

As Sunday was Fathers Day, Brad talked to both of the boys before we headed back into the park and lost phone service. We stopped at a fly shop and got the proper bugs, then headed back to camp to do some reading and relaxing. When evening rolled around we headed back to the creek for some fishing—a couple bites, one small fish and the near loss of the new fishing rod. Back at the camper we cooked s’mores and rolled into bed, exhausted.


Monday. Nowhere to be in the morning, whew. We lazed around, had a big breakfast and then readied the camper for the trip home. My goals for the day were coffee at Starbucks in town (the most beautiful outdoor setting imaginable—see photo) and a visit to Cathy on the way home.

We parked downtown, and walking toward Starbucks we saw elk, munching away, just off the sidewalk. I didn’t count, but there were several ‘spikes,’ several cows and a calf or two. Ya gotta love that…..elk right along the road.

After coffee and on the way back to the van, we stepped into another fly shop—the equivalent of a yarn shop for fishermen/women. Brad was thoroughly and completely engaged for over an hour. After extracting him from the “rabbit hole,” we headed back to the van, and then down the canyon toward Loveland and Windsor.

Cathy’s house is another feast for the senses, you can see her creativity everywhere you look. Beautiful crocheted curtains and swags, handmade drop spindles (courtesy of her hubby), and too many things to mention. We went ‘stash diving’ and I came away with enough to keep me busy for a long, long time.

Okay, that’s enough for one day…..there’s laundry to do, plans to be made for the next adventure and the spinning wheel is calling my name. Sometime this week there will be a contest, so stay tuned.

Worth the wait Laurie?

6 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

6 responses to “Sorry Laurie…..

  1. It was so much fun to run into you! Your hubby is a doll (even if he said no to a fleece);-)
    Next year we’ll take a bit more time to chat.

  2. It was wonderful to get to chat with you on Saturday, Lisa! Isn’t Cathy a doll too??

  3. The raw fleeces were mailed off today – wanted to wait til you saw them. Brad may have said no to a fleece but we fixed him, huh? (smile, Brad). Looking at your new stash, I am inspired to get back to spinning… gosh, maybe next week we can get together!

  4. oh YES. That was a wonderful, complete and dizzying report. You should have grabbed the CVM/Romeldale. But it’s made up for what Cathy contributed at the end of the post. You are one lucky spinner.

  5. Oh, it sounds wonderful indeed – a perfect balance of fibery goodness and outdoor relaxation! Dang, that sure looks like a LOT of fiber in the last picture!

  6. Sounds like you had a great trip – your campsite was gorgeous! It was great to meet you.

Leave a Reply

