Progress and Pussy Cats


It is a beautiful morning here in Colorado Springs; bright blue skies, very slight breeze and still on the cool side. This afternoon is forecast to be warm, 80 or so, and by Monday the temps are supposed to reach 90 (yuk). Later on I’ll “batten the hatches” to keep the house cool, but for now I’m enjoying the sound of birds coming through open windows.

I did make a bit of progress yesterday, after my fight with the computer and checking in with my cyber-buddies. Thanks to those of you who commiserated with me in the comments; it’s an odd thing to those not actively involved in the blogging community, hard to understand the friendships that develop through this medium. But so many of you have expressed similar feelings, I know I’m not the only one who feels the kinship of the blogging community.

Ain’t it grand???

Okay, back to progress.

I’m still spinning up the Merino/Silk blend roving, and for the most part, I’m very pleased with it; it is mostly good–with sections of crap–but I am being kind to myself, realizing that I am still very new at spinning and thinking that it will be perfect for mittens or a hat. I have one bobbin mostly full and have about half as much on a second. My plan is to ply the two bobbins of singles, give it a nice bath and hang it (with a little weight) to set the twist. I’m still trying to wrap my mind around “how much makes how much,” and honestly, my 5 of so ounces has gone father than I thought it would. I tried to weigh what I had left the other day—I wanted to see if I had spun half of what I had, and keep the bobbins ‘even,’ but I have been unable to find my food scale (moving, ugh). My little postage scale wasn’t much help, but as near as I can figure, I still had well over half the roving left (at the time I weighed it). Either that, or I had WAY more than 5 oz to begin with. I really must find the scale, so I can weigh the finished hanks.


I knit a bit on the Trekking sock as well, and I’m happy to report (Linda) that I’ve made back the negative progress from Monday. I know, Margene, “it’s the process,” but I so very much prefer gains to losses (at least in this context).

In lieu of Favorite Foto Friday, I’m going to share a few shots of our new houseguest, Zorro. Last night, after enjoying a movie with Eva, I ventured down to hubbies basement office (where he was hard at work) to peruse the mail. The elusive Zorro decided to join us, so I retrieved the camera and tried to get a few pics. For the most part, the guy keeps to himself, having found a great place to hide among a stack of moving boxes under the stairs. But last night he was feeling rather social (still no purring) and was enjoying the attention. He’s not much of a cuddler (at least not yet), but he likes having his belly scratched—and his head and his rump. He’s really rather sweet.

His eyes are not really two different colors, but a pretty green…..he looks rather arrogant here, doesn’t he?

Off to get a bit of spinning done before the scheduled events of the day.

Have a great weekend!

5 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

5 responses to “Progress and Pussy Cats

  1. Lovely spinning, blue sky, sock and Zorro?…well, he rocks! Enjoy your day.

  2. Wow – your spinning is absolutely gorgeous. Love Zorro – figure once he feels more at home, he’ll purr. My neighbor who walks with me asked me last night how I know so many people all over the world. I found myself hesitating and found myself NOT mentioning the blog. Funny to feel it’s private – and yet… public.

  3. I can’t believe how well you’re spinning already! It looks great to me.

    Hi, Zorro! My, you are a handsome lad, aren’t you? I thought you might be a black kitty, but now I see that you are a masked kitty – great name!

  4. Dang, girl…look at you go! Your spinning looks fabulous! My husband said, after I pointed out how good your yarn looked, “Are you sure you should be looking at thta?” I think he’s afraid to have me so close to spinning, while I am trying to resist the urge.

Leave a Reply

