Day off??? NOT

I was planning to take the day off from blogging and spend the time knitting and spinning. I had written a clever little note to tell you where I was, and included a couple things to amuse you whilst I spin. As it turns out, the software is having issues again and, well, I’ve spent just about as much time as I usually do getting a post written, trying to tell you that I’m not going to be blogging today.

Having said that, here are some thoughts:

Steve Martin said; “When your hobbies get in the way of your work—that’s okay; but when your hobbies get in the way of themselves…..well…..” That’s how I’m feeling today.

Last night I was commenting to DH (complaining??) that the blog was taking up all my time, time I wanted to spend knitting and spinning and such, yet when he said “then don’t do it!” I cried, “but I like it!” I feel like the time spent writing, and then reading what YOU all write is time spent building relationship—-in a way. I know, we aren’t sitting down to coffee or lunch, we’re not trading babysitting or organizing carpools, we’re not in the stands, cheering our children on to victory. But we are getting to know each other, not unlike being pen pals in “the old days.”

And so, here I am. And there you are. And the conversation continues.

Now before I head off to the spinning wheel or my knitting basket, here’s something to think about 🙂

Yes, I’m afraid it’s true……evidence of Bird Flu in a trailer park somewhere in Florida.

Make it a great day and I’ll see you tomorrow.

6 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

6 responses to “Day off??? NOT

  1. Ha, ha, ha, ha, ha! Love it! Enjoy your ‘free day’;-)

  2. I agree with you completely on the “blogging as community” idea. I haven’t been blogging long, but I’ve been reading for a few months.

    Keep knitting on those projects, they look so much more interesting than mine. (knitenvy)

  3. Cute picture!

    I know what you mean – interactive blogging takes a lot of time! And gosh, if I don’t have time to knit, what the heck am I going to blog about?? 🙂

  4. Occupied was a good choice….no knitting done by me, but I had a blast anyway. And bonus knitting, what a great concept, eh?

    Too bad about the sock. You know scofflaws like jaywalkers never behave. It ain’t easy to “read” such a creature

  5. So funny, bird flu…

    I hope you enjoyed your day off, remember to save your energy for Saturday’s Sheep Shearing, Sharing Snacks, and Sole Searching.

  6. I really like the “pen pal” idea. It sounds very old-fashioned, but one of my mother’s best friends was a woman she “met” as a penpal in her teens. They were life-long friends, through countless letters, and they only actually met once or twice over the years.
    I can’t stop laughing about the flamingo picture.–>

Leave a Reply

