Is anyone surprised?


I didn’t think so.

Yesterday afternoon I indeed hooked up with Ellen to look at spinning wheels. The place where she bought her wheel is rather, um, unique. Tucked away in a little strip mall is a tiny nail salon, that also sells candles, has a tanning booth and……spinning wheels. Here is a perfect example of a gal who does what she loves. Fiber addict, spinner and nail tech, all rolled into one.

Now before you say “….but you said you didn’t want a castle wheel!” let me explain. This shop sells beautiful Kromski wheels and there were many different wheels to choose from. I am still lusting after the Symphony, but there, in the corner was this little Mazurka, on sale (really on sale–like half price) because the owners puppy had nibbled on the treadle. I was ready to keep looking when Ellen sat down to give it a spin. Then of course I had to try it. Lovely. Just lovely. It spun like a dream, smooth and even with a soothing whir. Once I got the wheel going, the single treadle was no trouble at all. I spun on another wheel, the Polonaise, and truly, I liked the little Mazurka better (go figure). So, it came home with me, along with the lazy kate, oil, an extra drive band, a video and goodie bag of fiber.

On the way back to Ellen’s for tea, we stopped by a yak farm to see if they had fiber for sale. Sadly, there was no one home but the yaks, and they weren’t talking. They were, however, very cute…….

………………just look at that sweet face! I had no idea yaks were so cute! And they’re small, I’m guessing in the 400lb range. And check out that fur…..I’m sure Ellen will be stopping by again.

Back at Ellen’s, I sat down for another test spin, which was a bit frustrating at first because things had jiggled out of adjustment on the ride over (through Castlewood Canyon, past a couple wild turkey’s). Ellen carded some buffalo, which spun up fairly nicely, but may not be worth the work to get it all prepared……..it is full of stuff and ick.

It was time to head home, so I packed up my sweet little wheel and headed out. Apollo and the gang were near the fence, so I stopped for a chat and a photo.

The weather was, well, turbulent is a good word. Out East the skies were nearly black, towards the West, more blue and grey. I had the radio on (classic rock, if you’re curious), and there was a road closed due to power lines and trees being down, a report of a sign in the middle of the road and a report of a tornado out East in Ellicot. As I went to bed last night, there were thunderstorms passing by.

The red cardi is still waiting for me to put it together, but I have this nagging feeling that I will follow the Harlot’s example and make Tuesday’s for Spinning.

…..so many choices.

7 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

7 responses to “Is anyone surprised?

  1. Beautiful wheel, Lisa! While the castles don’t have the traditional look you associate with spinning wheels I think you’ll like it because you can move them around without too much trouble and they don’t take up near as much floor space. I hope you enjoy it!

  2. You lucky grrl! I spent my wheel money at the vet:-(

  3. Congrats!!! Hope you’re having fun…

  4. Ohhh how beautiful!
    Love your new wheel, its very pretty. Will look good anywhere!!
    Love the YAKS too, my husband was the one talking about getting yaks if we move to our playground in Florissant. He had no idea why I was getting SO excited, hehe, he just likes them.

  5. LOL. I nobly refrain from quoting you about learning to spin. 3 of my wheels are castle/upright and the one saxony is the Symphony. I love the castles for their convenience (what Kristi says) and the Kromskis for their look. Which one is that? Mazurka or the other one? I know one is smaller. I didn’t like the Polyn. saxony when I spun on it tho it has more adjustments. I spun yesterday, thinking you probably were too. 🙂

Leave a Reply

