S.E.X.

Yes indeedy…a Stash Enhancement eXpedition commenced this morning as Christy and I headed to Castle Rock. The Red Wheel will be moving their business and will no longer be stocking yarn or knitting paraphenalia, HENCE, a SALE. Ellen (my spinning buddy) met us there and, well, I don’t really need to tell you what happened, do I??

A couple of the gals and I are planning a knit-along (a mobius ‘bowl’) so I picked up some Cascade 220 and a needle. The black wool is for a felted sheep and the fiber…..well who could resist merino/silk for less that $3 per ounce? What I left in the store was the ‘to die for’ gorgeous cherry spinning wheel that cost a mortgage payment. Oh. My. Goodness.

Enough Said.

Yesterday afternoon I spun up a bit of the hemp. I say a bit, because frankly, it was not fun. While I was working with it I was thinking of that fairly tale (Rumplestiltskin???) where the maiden is spinning straw into gold. I was not getting gold of course, but it felt like straw, or fiberglas insulation. The final product isn’t anything I thought I would ever use.

Until I saw this:

Gasp. The handle of my best favorite Lantern Moon basket is torn, and ready to give way. The obvious answer??? Hemp.

I plan to give it a go before the basket leaves the house again.

Both sleeves are done on the red cardi, thanks to knitting time yesterday afternoon and this morning with the girls. Now to sew up the sleeves, set them in there pre-ordained places and make the whole thing look like a sweater.

Christy is coming by this afternoon with her wheel for a little play time. She came away from the sale this morning with chocolate alpaca, and she’s going to walk me through the mobius thing.

One more…since it’s Friday….

Here’s a shot back toward the Olympic Mountains from a nature preserve on the Olympic Peninsula. After camping for a few days out on the ocean side of the peninsula, we were on our way home and stopped to check out this preserve. From the beach, we snapped this picture, just as the sun was getting ready to call it a day. I love the beach….the shore birds, the screech of gulls and slap of waves against the rocks.

Magic.

4 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

4 responses to “S.E.X.

  1. You are being strong resisting a wheel, but I definitely detect weakening… Hang in there!

    Gorgeous picture…

  2. I really think you got the whole mobius thing down . I think I’ll experiment tomorrow (at work) with the three-cross mobius. 🙂

  3. I love that fairy tail… and your photo.

  4. I finally got over to your blog and love the way you write. I’ve caught myself up on the archives, the pictures are wonderful. I may steal the idea, if I can remember to be more regular with my posting…

    And just so everybody knows, that gray alpaca is fabulous. I still think just keeping it around and patting it every so often is a perfectly good option.

Leave a Reply

