Morning Funk

I was up late (for me) watching “Hotel Rwanda” last night, and was awaken by a phone call early (for me) this morning. Bad combo, and now I’m in this morning funk, my eyes keep wanting to shut, my head feels muzzy, and since it’s too late to go back to bed and too early for a nap, well, I guess I’m stuck. I’m doing what anyone would do, catching up on the gossip (via the internet) and drinking coffee……sweet elixer of life as my son says.

Yesterday I managed to get a few things done around the house that I’d been putting off, and then I rewarded myself with knitting. I got two little squares done for Justin, which are now safely in the envelope and ready to send. I also finished listening to “In the Company of the Courtesan,” which was wonderful, from start to finish.

While watching the movie last night, I knit on the sleeve for the red cardi, had to tink a row and a half ’cause I wasn’t paying attention to what I was doing, but I think I’m down to the last couple increases before I do a test fit. It’s nice to be able to knit what you like out of the yarn you want to, but doing all the fiddley stuff to get it to work out right is just such a pain. I’m eyeing a zippered cardi for my son, from the new Interweave Knits, and it calls for good ole Cascade 220…..I can live with that. Less math, for sure. Son number two thinks he’d like it in grey, a good choice, don’t you think?
I can’t remember the last time a knit something out of the specified yarn.

Yesterday I also ordered the pattern for a darling little cardi with a cabled edge, from the Occasion Collection (available through Patternworks and Woodland Woolworks), and it looks like it might be a fun summer knit.

This afternoon, after my trips to the various torture exercises (massage and chiropractor) I’d like to get up to the Llama store for some fiber. I’m still planning to take the wheel back at the weekend, but want to play around with it a bit more before then. While I’m there, I’ll check out the Cascade 220 colors. I hate to admit this, but WEBS still has 220 on sale, and I’d be a fool to pass it up.

And now little dude is here and I must pway yeggo.

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “Morning Funk

  1. Smith likes that sweater so maybe that will be my fall knit. I agree about coffee being the sweet elixer of life!

  2. That IS a very nice guy sweater. Cascade 220 is great to knit with, too – so hopefully you can take advantage of the WEBS sale! I picked up some Silky Wool there myself…

Leave a Reply

