Make it a Blue Day.

If you’ve read the little blurb in the corner, you know that I am a nurse. One of the jobs I had a few years ago was in private practice with a Pediatric Hematologist/Oncologist……a kids cancer doctor. It was a small practice, but on a weekly basis we saw children with cancer and various blood disorders, mostly African American children with Sickle Cell Anemia. I did all the blood draws, blood infusions and administered chemotherapy to these little people. I ran the blood count tests. Most weeks went by with more good news than bad, but in a practice such as this, we had our share of really bad days. People have asked me how I could do this job, wasn’t it terribly sad, and I would say that yes, it is sometimes terribly sad, but the kids are amazing and teach you so much about life and dealing with illness. I have memories of children who have touched my heart such that I will never forget their little faces. I have a couple memories of cases that looked like we had triumphed only to see something else sneak up and steal our patient. And one child, though not my patient, will always be remembered because he was my younger sons friend, and a son of my heart.

Cancer is a no good, lying, cheating bastard. The treatments can be far worse than the disease (at least in the beginning), but the good news is that the many common childhood cancers are curable. The cases that are not, are heartbreaking. That is why there will not be any progress on the red cardi, until I have sent a couple blue squares off to the Warming Grace Project for Justin. Here is a tangible way to send love, comfort and maybe a small ray of hope to a little dude who will more than likely be taken from his family very soon.

How could I say no?

If you can’t pitch in this time, or you don’t have anything blue in your stash, keep in mind that Cynthia is still collecting 5 inch squares and will make blankies for these small patients as long as there are squares and children in need.

Enough said???? Good.

I hope you all had a good weekend, ours was busy and full. Friday evening, in lieu of date night, we hung out in the Field House at the Academy while cadets tried to earn extra credit points by flying their small gliders across the field. It was good fun; I always enjoy meeting my husbands students, watching Brad interact with them and seeing them all together. Our own guys are about the same age as these cadets, so it’s neat to spend time with young people that age. Some of them kept making modifications, hoping to get the glider a bit farther; one guy kept at it for a couple hours until he had finally hit the back wall and earned all the points he could. One guy was about to give up because his glider flew apart on it’s maiden voyage. Encouraged, he dug it out of the trash, glued it back together and flew the thing nearly all the way on the first toss. One young man told me about his plan to propose to his girl the next day by flying her over a field in which his friends would be holding up a “will you marry me?” sign. I can’t wait to hear how that worked out. It was a fun evening.

Saturday morning I joined the Knitters with Altitude (check out the new links in the sidebar!!) at a local coffee place, where we took over a small corner and knit, wound yarn, perused books and patterns and gabbed for several hours. In the late afternoon we attended a retirement dinner and ceremony honoring one of the departments visiting professors. It was a moving tribute to a wonderful man….I don’t think there was a dry eye in the house by the end of the evening.

Sunday, Mother’s Day, we went to church and then joined our friends Cliff, Eva and Stephen and Lorna for a great brunch at a local hotel. You might imagine everyone ate more than they probably should have—I don’t think I have ever seen so much food at a buffet—and we parted ways to enjoy the rest of the day. Brad and I had a quiet day for the most part, we did a little shopping and ended the day with coffee at Starbucks. Once home, he made me a niddy noddy out of some pvc pipe we picked up at Lowes. Always the engineer, here’s what his “plans” looked like. (smile)

Today, there is a lot I need to catch up on, but I will be knitting blue squares.

Have a great Monday.

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “Make it a Blue Day.

  1. Wow – those niddy noddy plans are impressive! So… what does the finished niddy noddy look like?! 🙂

Leave a Reply

