Hiatus

It seems that the urge to knit has been temporarily been replaced by the urge to read. And read I have. After finishing “I am Madame X” yesterday afternoon, I took “Beethoven’s Hair” off the shelf, and it is, so far, holding my interest. I feel like I’m back in college and on spring break—-I would read anything I could get me hands on that wasn’t a text book. I could read 10 books over a break, completely satiating myself with fiction so that I didn’t feel quite so cheated when class began again. I have read 4 or 5 books in the last week or so, 2 in the last 3 days. The red cardi has been calling to me from my knitting basket, my Netflix offerings glaring at me from the counter, and my best buddy, TiVo, is getting full again. Soon I will run out of compelling books and will return to life as it has become.

For quite a while I’ve been playing around with ideas for a novel of my own, actually starting 2, which I’m afraid died with my last laptop. I have a lot of storylines in my head, but like so many things, I don’t know how to start, and those that I actually started got bogged down and lost momentum. Like many avid readers, I know what makes for a good story, can spot a bad one pretty quickly, and think I could do better. People I know have become successful authors. But along with other ambitions, it is only that; an ambition. I think it goes along with the question from last week….”if I knew I could not fail.”

There are so many things I want to do, but fear of rejection, fear of failure, fear of disappointment keeps me from trying. That, and getting bogged down in the details, not knowing where to start. On my list of things to do this year (the one that I wrote in January) is a Fair Isle sweater, not a difficult one with 15 colors, but a simple, drop sleeve EZ sweater with 2 main colors and a third around the armhole steeks. One of the expert knitters I talked to at camp in March encouraged me by saying “you have all the skills you need, just do it…..get out the graph paper and figure it up.” I’m just not sure I’m ready to launch into another epic project just yet. I think the cardi needs to be finished first (for sure) and then I can think about it. I’m not good at having lots of ‘big’ things on the needles at the same time.

Okay, enough of that….this is beginning to sound like a stitch and bitch—without the stitching.

In the meantime, have you read anything good lately???

5 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

5 responses to “Hiatus

  1. I am reading ‘Saturday’ by Ian McEwan right now…on my iPod. Knit and read..it’s great!

  2. I’m listening to the Harry Potter books again. But usually I actually read books while I’m knitting. My mind is going blank right now, alas…

  3. I’m sure you’ve heard it before, and I say this to you as the pot to the kettle, but the best way to write a novel is to just write. Even if it’s bad – just write. Start in the middle. Start at the end. Just start.

    I’m currently reading Good Omens by Neil Gaiman and Terry Pratchett. SO. GOOD.

  4. I’m mostly reading cookbooks and then a few pages of an old novel by Vilhelm Moberg called “Emigrants” but I’m feeling the urge to just hunker down with the books. I’m getting itchy to start like a 100 new projects and I’m exhausted and have in-laws coming and it seems retreating to bed with the book seems like the best option, LOL!

    I adored Good Omens, as did my husband who recommended it to me when we were dating ages ago.

  5. I know it’s a way off, but have your heard of Nanowrimo? (www.nanowrimo.org) You might be interested in it. The idea is to write a 50,000 word novella in 30 days (November). It’s likely to be bad, but the idea is to get you writing. I did it a few years ago, but grad school has put it on the back burner since then.

    My knitting is on hiatus, too. I’ve done sewing, crocheting (really ought to finish the turtle) and of all things housework. Don’t ask – I don’t know what’s wrong with me. 🙂

Leave a Reply

