What would I do?

I’ve been thinking this morning about a quote I heard somewhere, and it is loosely this: What would you do (or attempt to do) if you knew you could not fail?

Interesting, no?

There are a lot of things I’ve tried over the years, I think it’s important to try lots of things…you never know what you’ll enjoy or be really good at. Thus, there are many things that I’ve failed at over the years and with each failure, I’ve become more cautious. But what would I attempt TODAY if I knew I could not possibly fail?

I’d open a yarn shop/coffee place, a place where I would encourage community. There would be great coffee and goodies, comfy leather seating and lot’s of yummy yarn and tools. There would even be bistro tables where non-knitters could enjoy a cuppa something and check their email on their laptops using my WiFi connection. There would be classes, and knit nights; singles nights and guys nights; book signings and trunk shows. We would sell books and buttons, high end yarn and a bit of ‘starter yarn,’ luxury needles and basic tools and everyone would feel welcomed and embrace and encouraged and successful.

I’d write a novel. I would be able to work anywhere, travel the world and call it research and carry a spiffy briefcase without looking stupid. I could have my own home office, could leave a message on the phone that said “please leave a message, I’m listening to my muse” and folks would know I was working. I might be prolific like John Grisham or Danielle Steele or have one huge success and call it good, like Harper Lee. Perhaps I would sell the movie rights and have a hand in producing a motion picture.

And I’d by a lottery ticket.

What would you try????

Okay. Today’s Favorite Foto is from one of my favorite places in this world, Estes Park and in this case Rocky Mountain National Park. Each autumn we make the trip up to the Park for a few days of camping and elk watching. The colors are magnificent, and weather is usually lovely and the elk are oh so close. As the sun begins to go down, the meadows are filled with these incredible animals, calling to each other and claiming their territory. Sometimes you catch a skirmish between bulls as one tries to take over another’s harem. The young ones stick close to their mamma’s and none of them are bothered by our presence. In times past I’ve been as close as 10 feet or so, and the elk merely looked up and kept grazing. It is my favorite time of year hear in Colorado, and although we’ve been to the park at all times of year, autumn is by far the best. There’s nothing like waking up to the sounds of elk in the meadow, or even nibbling on the bushes right next to your bed. Fabulous.

Have a wonderful weekend. Try something new!

4 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

4 responses to “What would I do?

  1. I would SO buy a Lotto ticket. Can you imagine all the yarn!! 😉

  2. As I sit here and think about it, I think my fear may not be failure, but crushing poverty. Most of the things I really want to do – open a yarn store and/or gaming store, move to PEI and start a sheep or alpaca farm, quit my job and find a career that speaks to my soul – I don’t do because I’m afraid I won’t make enough money to live. I want some sort of monetary windfall, not because I want to buy frivolous things, but because I want the freedom it would afford.

  3. Imbrium copied my post! (wait, how did she do that?)

    Love Estes Park as well – did you hear how the Park service needs to kill 1300 elk – overpopulated – either by hunting or encouraging wolves. The wolves are already in Northern CO – just think of the tourist industry uplift to see wolves!

  4. I’ve always wanted to visit the Rockies – thanks for the pictures!

Leave a Reply

