Ah……Naptime

I’ve got just a wee bit before the little dude is up from his nap…..I tell ya; when you’re used to having your days completely to yourself, suddenly being back in Mom Mode is quite a shock. Given 2 child free hours presents a conundrum; do I knit or nap, read or shower, catch up on email or housework?

We woke up this morning to very cold temperatures, somewhere in the 20’s. After breakfast we turned our attention to Lego and……


…..knitting slippers. I know, it’s not the cardi (or either of the socks in progress), but the dude needed something on his feet and what’s better than handknit, wool, slippers? Yes, yes, superwash wool would be better, but ya gotta use whatcha got. I was really hoping to be done by lunch, but being surrounded by Lego and pleas for help prevented that kind of progress, and I really needed a shower, SO…we’ll be aiming for after nap or at least well before Mr. Brad comes home.

In addition to not getting much knitting done, there’s something else I noticed: I have no idea what’s going on in the world. My routine usually involves watching the news in the morning, and I’m beginning to suffer withdrawals. Perhaps we should suggest to PBS that at the top and bottom of the hour they toss in 5 minutes of news for the grown-ups, I don’t think Arthur and Barney would mind.

I’m going to make this short so I can make the most out of the quiet time I have left…we have a busy afternoon ahead.

3 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

3 responses to “Ah……Naptime

  1. Hee hee – maybe a little ticker tape across the bottom of the kids shows with breaking news. đŸ™‚ Cute slipper!

  2. Lovely! Can I ask where you got the pattern?

  3. Lisa

    Oh! I completely agree that PBS needs to add a news segment. I’m not aware of anything that has happened in the past 2 years! I have to bargain with my daughter just to be able to watch the weather so I know how to dress her. However, I can always tell you where Ernie was hiding on Sesame Street’s Journey to Ernie. Sigh…I’ll miss this one day, won’t I? By the way, the slippers are adorable. What a lucky little boy!

Leave a Reply

