Aftermath

We’ll begin today with Favorite Photo Friday, and this photo made the cut just ‘cuz it makes me laugh. Out Loud. Almost every time I see it. Sorry if you don’t get the same chuckle….guess ya just had to be there.

If you’ve been tuning in for a while, you know son number one and I had a trip to Italy last year. In fact if you’ve been tuning in for a while, you’re probably sick of seeing those pictures by now…..so sorry. On a beautiful sunny Saturday we were on our way to the coliseum and came across this amazing bike.

“OOO stand there,” I said “and I’ll take your picture.”

“How ’bout I swing my leg over and pretend it’s mine,” he says.

“Don’t you dare,” says I. He did his best, haughty, “look at me” pose and I snapped the photo.

No kidding, it makes me laugh……laughing now. It’s blown up and on my fridge. Too funny.

Okay, back to the business of the day. I spent a good deal of time yesterday evening knitting and pondering over what was happening with the cardi, and here’s what I’ve decided…..all ya’ll* see if it makes sense. (*that’s Texan for ‘anybody who is listening and gives a darn). I think if I keep using the ‘numbers’ from the larger size (due to the difference in gauge) and aim for the measurements of the size that I want, it should work. The only place this seems to be a problem is with the sleeves, which will need a couple more increases to be the correct width, or close enough to fudge.

I believe it’s a sign of growth that I figured this out before the sweater was finished. I could have just picked a size and knit, and would have wound up with a too small sweater and another gift for a slim sister in law. If I hadn’t thought through the armhole dilemma, they would be way too big and the sleeve way too small. Like Margene says….it’s the process, and I for one am glad that I’m finally catching on.

And now, last but not least, I stumbled across this from Chris: handwrite a pangram, photograph it and post. In the red cardi aftermath, I thought this was most appropriate.

(Yes, I know there’s no ‘e’ in liquor—-but it looks better that way, don’t you think?)

Have a great weekend!

4 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

4 responses to “Aftermath

  1. You are TOO funny. Love the photo…he should own a bike just like that;-)
    Good luck with the sweater.

  2. What a handsome young man!

    Good luck with the sweater modifications! I’d give advice, but numbers continually thwart me.

  3. You, my dear, have arrived!! You are a thinking knitter! Woot woot!! Time to go get an Elizabeth Zimmermann video. 🙂

    Love the picture of your son – too funny!

    Wikipedia sure has some fun pangrams, doesn’t it?!

  4. Uh oh. I didn’t know I had to be a grown-up with my knitting too! Drat.

Leave a Reply

