The Thrill of Victory….The Agony of Defeat

I think I may have mentioned at some point that I am not, by any stretch of the imagination, a computer expert. I started this blog because I thought it would be fun, a good learning experience and perhaps expand my community. What I didn’t expect is how frustrating it could be at times, mostly because I really know nothing about HTML or webhosting or bandwidth or, well, you get the idea. In the beginning it was “how do I post pictures?” and “how do I add a hyperlink?” Having ‘mastered’ that, I really wanted to spruce up the sidebar, so I figured out how to add links to my favorite blogs. The next thing on my list was adding “buttons,” and if you tuned in this morning, you saw buttons in the sidebar; colorful, wonderful buttons, that linked to their source. While it was my intention to bring attention to the sites that I enjoy (like Cast-On), it was not my intention to rob them of bandwidth, and so, while the buttons have returned, they do not link to anything……at least not until I figure out how to do it with out breaching web etiquette. Here is my plea for help: If any of you who use Blogger can help me find a way out of this blogger hell that I’ve dropped into, specifically regarding how to post images with hyperlinks in my sidebar….PLEASE let me know.

The blog is kicking my A**.

I think I’ll go knit now.

3 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

3 responses to “The Thrill of Victory….The Agony of Defeat

  1. I think your best bet is getting a book like HTML for Dummies or something. But I can talk you through some simple HTML if you want. Ask away!

  2. When you make your links with buttons, there are two parts to the link – there’s the address (a href) part. That’s ok to point to someone.

    There’s also the image source (img src) part – that’s NOT ok to point to someone. You need to have someplace online to put those buttons so you can link to them in the image source. A lot of people use Flckr or Photobucket. I use freewebs.com because I already had an account there.

    Feel free to drop me an email – I can’t post an example here, but I could email you one.

  3. Chris and Carole have given you great advice. When I started my blog, I had no idea how to do any of this stuff, either. I found that Googling for help taught me a lot. Blogger also has a good help section.

Leave a Reply

