Isn’t there a Beetles song about the Taxman?

I could go on and on and on this morning about a plethora of topics, but fear of going to far will keep me from going to far (how’s that for elegant speech). Top on my list of complaints this morning is the mess that is our American tax system. I got started on the process yesterday, and was so frustrated by all the steps and questions and wondering if I put the right number here or there, that I took a break and watched Oprah. For crying out loud, why does it have to be so hard????

Here’s what my dining room looks like this morning.

I remember when doing the taxes to half an hour….tops. But with moving, turning rental property into primary living space and turning primary living space into rental property and investments and mortgages and 2nds and…….well, it’s just more than a nurse who knits is up for. Frustration was the mood of the day here.

(This is where I really want to vent, to tell you–whoever you are– how frustrated I was, how I felt like an incompetent idiot when my DH said ‘I did it for blah blah years, it’s not that hard.’ How I said to myself, ‘well screw it then, he can do it’….and several not so nice things. But because this is a blog about knitting and nice things like that, I’ll just keep it to myself).

The rest of the afternoon was spent folding laundry, going to the park with Eva and Stephen, and knitting. Progress is being made on the red cardie, but it is slow going. It’s hard to see the progress when there are so many stitches to slog through every row. I predict I’ll pick up another project, an intermission of sorts, to stave off boredom. There’s nothing worse than getting to the end of a project, and finding that you’re so sick of looking at it you don’t wear it for months. Am I the only one that feels that way?

Well, I’m off to run errands….not the least of which is getting the doggie friends bathed. I still have all my birthday money and would love to while away the afternoon in the yarn shop or booksellers. And of course, just sitting around with two sticks and a string is an appealing thought.

Here’s hoping your little corner of the universe is free of frustration today.



2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “Isn’t there a Beetles song about the Taxman?

  1. Here’s how I avoid tax frustration: I pay an accountant to do it.

  2. Oh, dang it, I knew there was a reason I was happy. I’d blocked out that I haven’t done my taxes. Curses.

Leave a Reply

