Springtime in the Rockies


I have a song stuck in my head today (no not that song, thank goodness), good ole’ Dinah Washington belting out “What a difference a day makes……..” Yesterday early on was partly sunny and nearly warm.


After church and brunch we took the dogs to the park, had a great little hike and a romp in the dog park and left, ahead of what was forecast to be a nasty storm.


Here’s what it looks like today…..windy, snowing, about 2 degrees with the windchill…a regular spring blizzard. Unlike many parts of the country, the weather in Colorado is very fickle this time of year, sunny and 70 one day and 2 feet of snow a couple days later. This particular storm is promising about 10 inches total, but it looks like there will be lovely drifts punctuated with bare spots because of the wind. It’s on days like this that I’m especially glad to stay home in front of the fire with my knitting or a good book (or both, you know how I love to listen to audiobooks while I knit).

I find that I’m once again fighting the battle between what I want to do and what I need to do. The house really needs a good vacuuming, I need to look at the bills, and the file full of tax documents is sneering at me from the kitchen counter. However, I’m making really good progress on the sleeve of the red sweater, I’m dying to plan a fair isle project, and I’ve about got the one needle sock to a place where I can turn the heel. Ah, decisions.


How’s this for stalling? A PROJECT SPECTRUM update. Here’s how the red sweater is coming along. I’m about halfway up sleeve number one and I’ve got about 5 inches of the body done. The work on the body is rather slow going since there are 225 stitched on the needle, and I’m finding that I still have to pay attention. I was knitting away at my Mom’s house the other night and noticed that I had made a mistake about 7 rows back. Now, 3 or 4 years ago would have frogged the whole piece and started over. 1 or 2 years ago, I would have carefully ‘tinked’ back to the error and corrected it, but this time, after weighing the options I decided to boldly go where this knitter had never gone before (I wish I had pictures, I impressed even myself). I very carefully dropped only the offending stitch, unraveled it down to where the booboo was and corrected it, using a crochet hook to ladder it back up and TADA….no mistake. The really impressive bit is that I did this at night, with Mom looking over my shoulder saying things like “I just don’t see how this is going to work” and “just leave it, nobody will ever notice,” and “are you sure?” I’m SO glad it worked, but really, the worse that would have happened is that I would have had to frog back to the mistake (about an inch and a half) and then pick it up from there. Instead of losing 2 hours of knitting, I invested about 20 minutes and got a huge payoff.

The other thing I’ve been cogitating on is how to best use my birthday dollars….my birthday isn’t until the end of the week, but the card with the gift is in my possession. There are several books I’ve been wanting, among them one by Meg Swanson and another by EZ. The Yarn Harlot’s new book comes out this week sometime, and I’d really like one of those cute little knitting journals. And then there’s yarn.

I won this yarn at camp, (10 50g balls/100m each) and I think I can see the beginnings of a Dale Fair Isle in there somewhere, but I need to get more of another couple colors to get it going. I’m open for suggestions.

And now I’m off to do a few “need to do’s” so I won’t feel so guilty about the “want to do’s” this afternoon.

It’s all about balance…..

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “Springtime in the Rockies

  1. Anonymous

    I think that I would stick to the knitting too. 🙂 I can go out and I think that I will sooner or later…Bt should be having a glorious day on the mt. 🙂 M

Leave a Reply

