In 24 hours…..

In 24 hours, I’ll be dashing around like a ninny, throwing things into my suitcase and wishing I’d planned ahead a little better.

In 24 hours I will be getting the house tidied up, washing up the laundry and making muffins for my hubby to eat while I’m gone.

In 24 hours I’ll be looking out the window to falling snow, wondering if I’ll even make it to the airport, and wondering who will be there to meet me at the other end. Will anyone be there to meet me?

In 24 hours I’ll realize that I’m missing something vital for the trip, make a mad dash to the store, and buy more than I need.

In 24 hours, time will stand still. I will enter the black hole of waiting…..waiting until it’s time to leave, waiting for my ride, waiting for the plane……waiting.

But today, well today is another thing.

Today, I stayed in bed way to long.

Today, I go to the spa for some pampering before the trip.

Today, I get to fondle the new yarn, as I wind it into balls.

Today, the sun is shining, the sky is bright blue and the breeze is brisk.

Today, I can plan what I’m taking along, do a test run with the luggage and make changes.

Today, I can sit, and knit, and read. I can linger over coffee, dawdle over email, and enjoy a long, hot bath.

Trips are always a bit of a mixed bag, it’s fun to go, but I long for my own bed and my own stuff. It’s nice to see people I miss, but stressful to try and see everyone in a finite amount of time. This trip in particular is difficult because while I’ll get to see the boys, they are busy with their own lives, and won’t have time just to hang out with mom. There are things I want to bring home with me, things that I cannot get in Colorado, places I want to visit. I need to see the water, hear the waves coming in and the seagulls overhead. I want to eat seafood, where I can see the sea. I want to visit the tulip farms, see them getting ready to bloom and buy some daffodils. I want to go to the public market and bring home fresh flowers. I want to smell roasting coffee beans.

In 24 hours, I’ll be almost ready to go………

But today…………I’d better get busy.

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “In 24 hours…..

  1. Anonymous

    Hey…I will be glad to see you in 48 hours even though I will be busy…it will be fun to get a hug and chat…know that I can’t wait. Happy travels!
    M

Leave a Reply

