the good, the bad and the ugly

The sun is streaming into my family room and both dogs are enjoying a nap, following a full morning at the groomers. Oh to be a dog! To be able to lay in the sun’s warmth, with no thoughts of what one should be doing, no projects calling out for attention, no treadmill sending subliminal messages from the exercise room.

Tempation arrived again yesterday in the form of the new edition of Interweave Knits and the new issue of Vanity Fair. I have a thing about magazines, I figure if someone has paid for me to have these delivered to my mailbox, then I have an obligation to read them. I have to confess, that this afternoon I gave in, and read through Knits, which to my delight (?) had a good article on—-you guessed it—-intarsia. Thank goodness, it appears I’ve been doing it right. I was really hoping for a trick for dealing with the ends, but as it turns out, there is no secret. Intarsia is just, well, messy on the wrong side. I’m not sure I like that. I like things that look neat and tidy when they’re finished, like they’re finished. But with intarsia, you have so many ends, it just seems impossible to hide them. I guess I’ll have to settle for a sweater that looks beautiful on the outside, and which looks lovingly hand knit on the inside. If anyone has a trick to make the inside look beautiful too, I’ll be happy to listen.

As for the rosebud cardie, I’m down to the last sleeve, which I’ll get going on later today. I actually had a fairly good start on it, and then came to the realization that I had neglected to do the increases….I just wasn’t paying attention to anything but the colorwork. You’d think knitting 22 of these little flowers I would be able to do them in the dark, but even now I find myself tied to the chart. I probably could have fudged it, I had only missed 1 increase, but at this stage I’m committed to getting it right, so I took it off the needles, and well, let’s just say thank goodness it was only an inch of knitting. I’m going to take little break and look at it again later.

maybe……

3 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

3 responses to “the good, the bad and the ugly

  1. Self help begins in the mind with the rocognition of a goal. Realizing the goal builds esteem. There are powerful subliminal and hypnosis tools that can help–many are free at http://www.mindmint.com

  2. This post has been removed by a blog administrator.

  3. Anonymous

    Stir the waters–that’s what all the information can and should do today. Subliminal communication, mind power tools, so much out there–it’s amazing. Thanks foir your blog. I have some of my own thoughts based on research. If you’re interested, take a look at http://www.subliminalcommunication.blogspot.com/

Leave a Reply

